Our Mission

Celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2020, the Historical League, Inc. is dedicated to preserving Arizona’s rich cultural heritage and promoting public awareness of the Arizona Heritage Center, an Arizona Historical Society museum. The Historical League, an Arizona 501(c)(3)/509(a)(2) nonprofit membership organization, conducts several fund-raising activities, including publishing two award-winning storytelling cookbooks, Tastes & Treasures I and II. Members also volunteer their time and efforts for educational and promotional activities. Since 1979 the Historical League has contributed more than $2 million dollars to the Arizona Heritage Center and League members have volunteered over 175,000 hours to the League and museum. At monthly meetings from September through June, stimulating, thought-provoking speakers inform members about a wide variety of topics on Arizona’s history including intriguing individuals and historic preservation. League members also enjoy tours to historic places, both locally and in other southwestern states.

103 Charter Donors Establish the Future of History Fund 

The Future of History Fund was established in honor of the 40th Anniversary of the founding of the Historical League. The Campaign to raise a goal of $100,000 kicked off in October, 2020 and concluded on June 30, 2021.

Members and friends including Historymakers and their families were invited to become Charter Members beginning at the $250 level. The Future of History Fund will continue to grow and will support projects that reach out in new ways to both new and traditional audiences.

The goal was exceeded by over $20,000--demonstrating that those who love and support Arizona are truly "jewels."

This year's funded projects have been identified: 

  • An update of the Historymakers Hall exhibit--grand opening event TBA
  • Support for Arizona teachers and students to develop National History Day projects--expanding participation at all levels
  • Outreach dollars for the Arizona Heritage Center to reach new audiences--we will work with new AHS director Dr. David Breeckner and with Heritage Center leadership on a special project

We will provide updates on funded work on this website.

“History gives us hope for the future.”                                                                                                                                   ---Linda Whitaker, Honorary Lifetime Member of the Historical League and President of the Board,  Arizona Historical Society

Donor Levels

Total raised as of December 5, 2023 = $121,755